top of page

Keep Calm and Drive a Mustang

Growing up, my uncle and my dad were infamous when it came to telling stories from their childhood. My uncle would re-tell adventures of riding motorcycles through the desert, flying planes, and fixing old cars. My dad would contribute, but the story that stood out most to me was the time he went through a fast food drive-thru in his neighborhood, inappropriately accelerated and embarrassed himself in front of a hot girl.

https://soundcloud.com/murphy-thompson/keep-calm-and-drive-a-mustang

The story changes a little bit every time he tells it, but one theme remains true: This was the most embarrassing moment of his life. As a child I never realized the drastic emotional scars an event like this can leave on someone. It was only when he told it recently that the ending of the story made sense. After going through the awkward years of high school and embarrassing myself in front of numerous boys, the weight of my dad’s story hit: His experience is definitely very embarrassing. Alas, we cannot all have the rock star credentials of Mick Jagger or the stunning model powers of Kate Moss to land us a partner, but a cool car (a ‘66 mustang perhaps?) can make all the difference.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page